Image default
Occassion Vrat and Upavas

2019 Banada Ashtami

Ashtami Tithi Begins = 23:41 on 13/Jan/2019
Ashtami Tithi Ends = 00:37 on 15/Jan/2019

Shakambari Navratri begins on Paush Shukla Ashtami and ends on Paush Purnima. Paush Shukla Ashtami is known as Banada Ashtami or Banadashtami.

Most Navratri begins on Shukla Pratipada except Shakambari Navratri that begins on Ashtami and ends on Purnima. Therefore Shakambari Navratri spans for total eight days. But in some years because of skipped Tithi and leaped Tithi Shakambari Navratri would possibly span for seven and 9 days respectively.

Shakambari Mata is incarnation of Devi Bhagwati. It’s believed that Devi Bhagwati incarnated as Shakambari to mitigate famine and severe food crisis on the planet. She is additionally called goddess of vegetables, fruits and green leaves and portrayed with green surroundings of fruits and vegetables.

Shakambari Navratri culminates on Paush Purnima that is also called Shakambari Purnima. Shakambari Purnima is also called Shakambari Jayanti because it is believed that Devi Shakambari was incarnated on the exact same day.

Shakambari Navratri is common in Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, Maharashtra and a few parts of Tamil Nadu. In Karnataka, Shakambari Devi is known as Banashankari Devi and Banada Ashtami is a very important day during Navratri.


Related posts

Makar Sankranti or Sankranthi 2019


Thai Pongal 2019


Date and auspicious of Makar Sankranti 2020


Leave a Comment